Counselling Response To COVID-19
<

Counselling Response To COVID-19

VisionWest's Counselling service is considered to be an essential service and therefore will remain in operation throughout the COVID-19 lockdown period.

We understand that this is an uncertain and unpredictable time and we want to assure you that the safety of our clients and staff is our top priority.

As such, the Counselling Team is now conducting all of our sessions via phone or video chat (eg. Skype, Microsoft Teams, Facebook Messenger etc.).

If you are currently a client of the VisionWest Counselling Team

Please contact your Counsellor via email to let them know your preferred medium for your session.

Leanne Frost - Leanne.frost@visionwest.org.nz

Camilla Widgery - camilla.widgery@visionwest.org.nz

Andi Billington - andi.billington@visionwest.org.nz

Anita Wong - anita.wong@visionwest.org.nz

Sharon Hight - sharon.hight@visionwest.org.nz

Garey Clark- gareyc@visionwest.org.nz

If you are not currently a client and would like to receive counselling:

Throughout the lockdown period we will continue to receive referrals. Please follow these steps to organise a counselling session:

1. Contact the Counselling Team by phone at 818 0760 or email counselling@visionwest.org.nz

2. Tell us your name, phone number and email (if possible). Please also indicate how you would prefer to engage in your counselling session: phone, Skype, Microsoft Teams, Facebook Messenger etc.) The Counselling Team’s preferred platform is Microsoft Teams as it is more secure. Please ensure that you have downloaded the relevant app to your phone or computer so that you are ready to go.

3. The administrator will be in touch to discuss more details.

4. You will be allocated to the first available and most suitable counsellor.

Please remember

There is a cost to counselling even during these difficult times. While we are still getting clarification on which funders are still operating under the current circumstances, there may be instances where funding is not currently available. In these cases, payment will need to be made up front with funding sought later – please discuss this with your counsellor or the administrator. We will continue to provide updates as we receive them.

Please remember to wash your hands and to be kind to each other as we work through this challenging time together.

For any health-related questions about COVID-19 please contact the dedicated COVID-19 Healthline number (0800 358 5453). You can also visit www.covid19.govt.nz for more information.






Our work is always growing and evolving.

To get our latest updates, sign up for our regular email newsletter.